Executive Officers

Dame Til Wykes

Til Wykes is Professor of Clinical Psychology and Rehabilitation and Vice Dean for Psychology and Systems Sciences at the Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology, and Neuroscience at King’s College London. Her active research stretches across the impact pathway which includes a basic understanding of the causes and effects of psychosis, the development, and evaluation of novel psychological treatments and testing implementation so they can be rolled out into services. She also has research in digital health and active and passive monitoring. She actively collaborates with consumers in the Service User Research Enterprise (SURE) (founder and co-director) and leads the Patient and Carer Participation theme of the NIHR Biomedical Research Centre in Mental Health.

She has been the chair of the SIRS Ethics Committee as well as Secretary and Treasurer of the Society. She is the executive editor of the Journal of Mental Health and serves on the editorial boards of npj Schizophrenia, Schizophrenia Research, and Schizophrenia Bulletin. She is an elected fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences, the Academy of Social Sciences and the British Psychological Society. In 2016 her work was recognized through the award of a Damehood by the Queen and in 2017 she achieved a Guinness World Record for the largest mental health lesson.

Merete Nordentoft

Merete Nordentoft is an expert in epidemiology, suicidal behavior, psychopathology and a pioneer in early intervention in psychosis. She was PI for many large randomized clinical trials, evaluating the effect of psychosocial intervention, of which the Danish OPUS trial (specialized assertive intervention in first episode psychosis) is the most well known.

She has worked with suicide prevention at a national level since 1997. Together with a group of epidemiologist from Nordic countries, she has proved that life expectancy in schizophrenia is 15 to 20 years shorter than in the general population.

She is involved as one of the PI’s in iPSYCH, the Lundbeck Foundation Initiative for Integrative Psychiatric Research, which aims at investigating genetic and environmental causes of mental disorders. The initiation of the large Danish High Risk and Resilience Study VIA 7, and the first follow-up wave VIA 11 are important parts of iPSYCH.

She was given the prestigious award “Global Excellence in Health” in 2012 and in 2016. She received the Richard Wyatt Award in 2016, The Marie and August Krogh Award in 2017, and The Danish Medical Association’s Honorific Award in 2018.

Paola Dazzan

Prof Paola Dazzan is Professor of Neurobiology of Psychosis, in the Department of Psychosis Studies at the Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology, and Neuroscience, King’s College London, and Honorary Consultant Perinatal Psychiatrist, South London and Maudsley NHS Foundation Trust.

She completed her Medical Degree at the University of Cagliari, Italy and obtained a Fellowship in psychiatry that allowed her to pursue her research interests in the UK. She became a Member of the Royal College of Psychiatrists (MRCPsych) in 1998. In 2002, she completed a Master (MSc) in Psychiatry at the Institute of Psychiatry, King’s College London. She trained as a psychiatrist at the Maudsley Hospital and completed her Ph.D. at the Institute of Psychiatry, King’s College London, in 2006. In 2013 she was nominated Fellow of the Royal College of Psychiatrists (FRCPsych).

Prof Dazzan’s main area of research interest is neuroimaging and its application to the study of early psychosis and postpartum psychoses. She is internationally known for her work on the relationship between magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) data and other biological measures such as neurodevelopmental indices, stress, and reproductive hormones. She has studied these phenomena in the early stages of psychosis and her interest has developed to include the progression of brain structural changes over the course of psychoses and the biological substrate of postpartum psychoses. She has a strong interest in understanding how antipsychotic drugs affect brain structure and function, and in exploring how to use imaging to predict response to treatment and clinical outcome. Her work has been extensively published in high impact papers, with more than 200 publications and an h-index of 61 (Google Scholar), and has been recognised by several prestigious International Awards, including the 2014 Academic Researcher of the Year Award from the Royal College of Psychiatrists, and Honorary Membership of the American Psychiatric Association in recognition of her contribution to psychiatry. In 2017 she received the Guy’s, King’s and St Thomas’s Award for “Outstanding Contribution to Student Experience”, for her work as Lead of Psychiatry teaching in the Medical School.

She has a strong interest in addressing gender inequality and promoting diversity in the academic environment, and until recently was the Co-Chair of the Diversity and Inclusion Team of the Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology and Neuroscience, the group that produced the application for the Athena Silver Award obtained by the Faculty. She is a member of the Executive Committees of the Academic and the Perinatal Faculties of the Royal College of Psychiatrists and of the Board of Directors of the Schizophrenia International Research Society. In November 2017 she was appointed Vice Dean International for the Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology, and Neuroscience.

Robert Buchanan

Robert W. Buchanan, M.D. is a Professor of Psychiatry in the Department of Psychiatry, University of Maryland School of Medicine; Director of the Maryland Psychiatric Research Center (MPRC); and Director of the Maryland Early Intervention Program (EIP).  Major research interests include schizophrenia phenomenology; the neuroanatomical and behavioral investigation of the pathophysiology of schizophrenia; and the development of novel pharmacological approaches for negative symptoms, cognitive impairments, treatment-resistant positive symptoms, and the metabolic disturbances and other side effects associated with antipsychotic treatment.

Dr. Buchanan has conducted a series of proof of concept and clinical trials examining antipsychotic-reduction strategies in the acute and maintenance treatment of schizophrenia; the use of adjunctive pharmacological agents for the treatment of negative symptoms and cognitive impairments; and the comparative efficacy of clozapine and olanzapine for positive and negative symptoms and cognitive impairment in partially responsive outpatients with schizophrenia.  He played a major role in the development and update of the Schizophrenia Patient Outcomes Research Team (PORT) psychopharmacological treatment recommendations.  These are a set of evidence-based recommendations that have influenced the development of various sets of treatment algorithms and guidelines for schizophrenia.  He is currently funded to evaluate the neural basis of social cognitive impairments and to develop novel therapeutic approaches for the treatment of positive and negative symptoms and cognitive impairments in people with schizophrenia.

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial